Local Support Board

Governance - The Fermain Academy (Youth Engagement Schools Trust)

The Fermain Academy Local Support Board (LSB) (Also the YES Trust Board of Trustees until Autumn 2019), meets every school term following an agenda driven by the Board of Trustees of the YES Trust. All aspects of safeguarding, school improvement, finance, HR, H&S and strategic leadership are discussed. Minutes for the following meetings can be viewed below.

Minutes from 2019/20 meetings and beyond, can be found on the Trust website due to the conversion to a Multi Academy Trust in Oct 2019.

The Fermain Academy established a Local Support Board of local governors in the 2019-2020 year. Minutes for these meetings can be obtained on request by contacting the school office.

Trustee / Local Support Board Governor Appointments

Calling all aspiring local governors and trustees!! Our school is looking to expand our Local Support Board and trustees across the Trust and we are encouraging applications from people of all walks of life to bring their expertise to the school and Trust. If you would like to make a real difference to the lives of our most vulnerable young people, please apply by completing the following application form:

YES Trust Governor Application Form

Our Governing Board

Tim Haselwood - Chair
Helen Phillips – Executive Headteacher
Deb Gibson - Co-Opted Governor
Lianne Hughes - Co-Opted Governor
Lucy Wheelton - Staff Governor
Colin Acton - Co-Opted Governor
Helen Brady - Co-Opted Governor
Lisa Spence - Parent Governor
Sally Brownhill - Co-Opted Governor

Local Support Board Appointments

Name and position Date of Appointment Appointed By Term of Office Date stepped down (where applicable) Term End Date
Tim Haselwood (Chair) 16.10.2023 Fermain LSB 4 years N/A 15. 10.2027
Lianne Hughes

(Co-opted Governor)

16.06.2022 Fermain LSB 4 years N/A 15.06.2026
Deborah Gibson

(Co-Opted Governor)

27.02.2020 Fermain LSB 4 years N/A 26.02.2026
Helen Phillips (YES Trust Director of Education)

(Executive Headteacher)

16.04.2024 YES Trust Board N/A N/A N/A
Emma Sandbach


17.04.2023 YES Trust Board N/A 16.04.2024 16.04.2024
Colin Acton

(Co-Opted Governor)

23.03.2023 Fermain LSB 4 years N/A 22.03.2027
Helen Brady

(Co-Opted Governor)

23.03.2023 Fermain LSB 4 years N/A 22.03.2027
Lisa Spence

(Parent Governor)

22.01.2024 Fermain LSB 4 years N/A 21.01.2028
Sally Brownhill

(Co-opted Governor)

22.01.2024 Fermain LSB 4 years N/A 21.01.2028
Lucy Wheelton

(Staff Governor)

23.03.2023 Fermain Staff Vote 4 years N/A 22.03.2027

Business / Pecuniary Interests

The Trust keeps a record of all declared business interests. The up to date register of interests can be viewed below.

Fermain LSB – Declaration of Interests 2023-24

LSB Minutes to Date

Termly Attendance at Governing Board Meetings

Meeting 1 Meeting 2 – ADDITIONAL MEETING Meeting 3 Meeting 4
Name 16-Oct-2023
Autumn Term 2023
Spring Term 2024
Spring Term 2024
Summer Term 2024
Tim Haselwood (Chair) Attended Attended Attended
Colin Acton Attended Apologies Apologies
Deborah Gibson Attended Attended Attended
Emma Sandbach Attended Attended Attended
Helen Brady Attended Attended Attended
Lianne Hughes Apologies Missed Missed
Lucy Wheelton Apologies Attended Attended
Lisa Spence N/A joined 22.01.24 Attended as guest Attended
Sally Brownhill N/A joined 22.01.24 Attended as guest Attended
Attendance Percentage 71% 71% 77%